Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,154
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 19
Post: #21
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 10:17 PM)DoubleU Wrote:  Maybe good to mention is that my file system is case-sensitive. Not sure if this is a problem for this game but some apps don't like that at all.

It shouldn't matter, as the engine code does handle case sensitivity internally (ie.. finding the correct case) as this is the same code that runs on linux which is always case sensitive.

Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, 10.6 (still), nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 17, nVidia 450 1GB
07-17-2009 11:10 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NaturalJow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 10:40 PM)sdalek Wrote:  
(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Tried that and it didn't work. Anything else to try?

Try again to move the app to a different place. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. It's also like that, that it works a time, and after some start I have the same problem again. But moving solves it also again.
07-17-2009 11:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,154
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 19
Post: #23
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

please try the directions in this threaad

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=3052

Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, 10.6 (still), nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 17, nVidia 450 1GB
07-17-2009 11:24 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdalek Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 11:20 PM)NaturalJow Wrote:  
(07-17-2009 10:40 PM)sdalek Wrote:  
(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Tried that and it didn't work. Anything else to try?

Try again to move the app to a different place. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. It's also like that, that it works a time, and after some start I have the same problem again. But moving solves it also again.

Tried this and it works intermittently. Thanks for the encouragement.

(07-17-2009 11:24 PM)Urkle Wrote:  please try the directions in this threaad

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=3052

Tried this and, after a couple of reboots, it may have fixed it for 'Overture'. It seems to come up consistently now, but the others still require copying the *.app file out and back again.

From what I've seen, this is a pretty cool game, but it's the first Mac app that's caused me problems. Even X11 on 10.4 didn't give me this much trouble. It's been my experience that Macs just work as do the apps I've installed. What happened? How will it be fixed?
07-18-2009 03:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)