Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
Overture crashing randomly
Author Message
Neuromante Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

Yey, I got the same error in a single spot:

Spoiler below!
[Image: 97102986-2.jpg]
A bit ahead

And the .exe fixed it. Thanks! ^_^
05-08-2010 02:33 PM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,586
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 174
Post: #12
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

(05-08-2010 02:28 PM)Server Error Wrote:  I can't run the .exe says,

"This application has failed to start because SDL.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

I run on Windows XP aswell and my graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS.

You have to place it in the same location as you installed the game, so if you do not rename the old Penumbra.exe first it will ask you to overwrite the old exe.
05-08-2010 03:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,586
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 174
Post: #13
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

(05-08-2010 02:33 PM)Neuromante Wrote:  Yey, I got the same error in a single spot:

Spoiler below!
[Image: 97102986-2.jpg]
A bit ahead

And the .exe fixed it. Thanks! ^_^

What graphics card do you have?
05-08-2010 03:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Neuromante Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

Ati Mobility x1400

I'm running on a Dell Inspiron 9400 laptop, with XP Professional Service Pack 3, with the latest version of the drivers I found (Not the ones provided from the manufacturer).
05-08-2010 03:36 PM
Find all posts by this user
Server Error Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

umm, how do i find the file i installed it in?
sorry, i forgot how to >.<, it's very late at night...or in the morning lol...
05-08-2010 03:38 PM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,586
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 174
Post: #16
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

If you did not change anything it is in Program Files/Penumbra/redist/ or something similar
05-08-2010 03:39 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Server Error Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

Ok, it seems to be working now, thanks Jens Big Grin
05-08-2010 03:47 PM
Find all posts by this user
gamercoon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

Yeah, it's not just when a new area loads, it's pretty random, as far as I can tell. However, this executable you provided seems to have fixed it! I played for a good 30 minutes or so without crashing, when it was crashing about every 6 or 8 minutes before. Whatever is different about that build seems to work!

Thank you,
-Gamercoon
05-09-2010 02:03 AM
Find all posts by this user
travis Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Solved: 9 Months, 2 Hours, 21 Minutes, 5 Seconds ago RE: Overture crashing randomly

(05-08-2010 02:28 PM)Server Error Wrote:  I can't run the .exe says,

"This application has failed to start because SDL.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

Did you put the exe in the "redist" directory? It needs to be exactly where the previous exe was located. If the original worked, this one should too.

The new exe fixed my problems. The game would stop loading upon entering a new room. Haven't encountered any new problems using this exe.
05-16-2010 05:44 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)