Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Penumbra and HPL2
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #11
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

One of the big differences between HPL1 and HPL2 is the map design.. in HPL1 it's a big collada model.. Where as in HPL2 it's a map that points to a bunch of collada model pieces and places them around the map.. (think tile based almost). So the designs are completely different and pretty much every level would have to be recreated to work in HPL2.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-04-2010 11:00 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hollowleviathan Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 823
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

Like I said, I'm not daft enough to think it would be an easy task by any stretch of the imagination. But I just can't find it in me to fight the temptation to want it, just a little.
10-05-2010 12:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #13
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

Since the level editor is released for HPL2 you can always see what it would take to convert a Penumbra level into the amnesia engine... (I'm still working on the linux and mac versions.. they are giving me 'issues')

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-07-2010 02:41 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
house Offline
Member

Posts: 195
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

HPL1 doesn't have a level editor. Sad HPL2 does, this would be great.
11-19-2010 07:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Liamgraves3 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

I just wish the creators of penumbra would make a map editor its all im asking for Sad
08-27-2011 09:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,032
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 173
Post: #16
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

it won't be made for sure...

[Image: L72ChX.png]
08-27-2011 11:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #17
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

There is a "level editor" for Penumbra, and it's "your favorite 3d model editor". All the levels in Penumbra were created in Maya I believe. You can also use Blender to work on the models.

Even with HPL2, the individual pieces that you use in the level editor were created in an external modeller first (e.g. Maya or Blender). The difference between HPL1 and HPL2 is that HPL1 uses a single model for the world instead of a intermediate file (the .map) that references smaller model files.

So, unless someone rewrites the map loader in the HPL1 engine to support an intermediate map file that references small model, the concept of the HPL2 map editor is simply not doable.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2011 03:31 PM by Urkle.)
08-27-2011 03:30 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)