Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ATI CROSSFIRE PROBLEM 5770 X 2
Author Message
katazo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 16 Hours, 56 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago ATI CROSSFIRE PROBLEM 5770 X 2

hello, playing the demo i noticed that with one videocard only, i get better frame rate than when i activate crossfire with my 2 ATI Radeon HD 5770 VGAs.
how can this be? i get 25-35 fps with one VGA and 20-25 with 2 VGAs...
09-24-2010 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user
DON3k Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 16 Hours, 56 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: ATI CROSSFIRE PROBLEM 5770 X 2

(09-24-2010 06:30 AM)katazo Wrote:  hello, playing the demo i noticed that with one videocard only, i get better frame rate than when i activate crossfire with my 2 ATI Radeon HD 5770 VGAs.
how can this be? i get 25-35 fps with one VGA and 20-25 with 2 VGAs...

Many OPENGL games do not seem to have a Crossfire Game Profile. This is one of them. It's up to Catalyst to properly utilize Crossfire in a game, not the game itself, really.

Just as a FYI - Have you download the latest Crossfire Game Profile installer from AMD? Since early 2010, each Catalyst Driver Set also has a Crossfire Game Profile installer that you can download that helps to get games to properly run in Crossfire. On the same page with the Catalyst download, further down the list, you will see the installer for the Crossfire Game Profile installer.

I have two 5970s in Crossfire, and only GPU1 is used for me in this game. I get no activity on GPU2,3,4. However, the game runs fine, and with great framerates, but it would be nice if it used all 4.

Riddick, which is OPENGL, has a Crossfire profile and runs great on all GPUs.

Do as I do: If I find a game that does not use Crossfire properly, or at all, I send feedback with the game and info to the Catalyst Crew at AMD:

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D27E29B0E3
09-24-2010 07:12 PM
Find all posts by this user
Blackhand Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 16 Hours, 56 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: ATI CROSSFIRE PROBLEM 5770 X 2

Those framefrates sound too low in general, even for 1 GPU on that card. Are you sure you aren't overdoing it on the SSAO samples? At most you only need 16.
09-24-2010 10:49 PM
Find all posts by this user
katazo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 16 Hours, 56 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: ATI CROSSFIRE PROBLEM 5770 X 2

thx for the info guys, i fixed the problems uninstalling every ATI driver and cleaning the registry, then reinstalling ATI drivers again and ATI profiles, now the game runs the same with Crossfire activated or desactivated=D. now i wish ATI adds support for this game in Catalyst.
09-25-2010 09:42 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)