Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


pulseaudio + openal
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago pulseaudio + openal

ok, the game is finally installed, but when I start I "frequency to higth" or someting similar, (I don't know how to translate) I have a Nforce/Nvidia 6150 chipset.

ok I put fulscreen=false and I get another error:

Check serial!
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glee...OK
Setting up OpenGL
  Max texture image units: 0
  Max texture coord units: 149608424
  Two sided stencil: 0
  Vertex Buffer Object: 0
  Anisotropic filtering: 1
  Max Anisotropic degree: 16
  Multisampling: 0
  Vertex Program: 1
  Fragment Program: 1
  NV Register Combiners: 0
  NV Register Combiners Stages: 8
  ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
  Creating Renderer2D
  Renderer2D created
  Creating Renderer3D
   Load Renderer3D gpu programs:
    Extrude
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
    Diffuse Vertex
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
    Diffuse Fragment
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
    Fog
CG: 'Fog_Solid_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'Fog_Solid_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
   Creating fog textures: Solid Additive Alpha
CG: 'refract_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'refract_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'refract_special_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
   init sky box
  Renderer3D created
Creating screen buffers size 800.000000 : 600.000000
Creating programs
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_Rect_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_2D_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG ERROR : The compile returned an error.
-----------------------------------
core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg(32) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
-----------------------------------
CG: Error loading: 'core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'!
ERROR: Couldn't create program 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'
Dynamic loops in motion blur fp not supported, loading static instead.
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_staticloop_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_vp.cg' using profile: 'vp40'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_fp.cg' using profile: 'arbfp1'
  RendererPostEffects created
Adding engine materials
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL.
  Trying to open audio device... FATAL ERROR: Failed! Check your OpenAL installation

I'm on ArchLinux 64bit.

thanks.
(This post was last modified: 07-20-2009, 06:55 PM by ndonolli.)
07-20-2009, 06:54 PM
Find
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: pulseaudio + openal

if I make a file called .alsoftrc.conf in my home directory and put in it:

drivers= alsa

I get in terminal:

[fabio@abuarch Overture]$ ./penumbra
Error: API mismatch: the NVIDIA kernel module has version 185.18.10,
but this NVIDIA driver component has version 185.18.14.  Please make
sure that the kernel module and all NVIDIA driver components
have the same version.
ALSA lib pcm.c:2171:(snd_pcm_open_conf) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
ALSA lib pcm.c:2171:(snd_pcm_open_conf) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
AL lib: alsa.c:344: Could not open playback device 'default': No such file or directory
(0) : fatal error C9999: *** exception during compilation ***
Cg compiler terminated due to fatal errorPenumbra: Overture exited unexpectedly, please check
/home/fabio/.frictionalgames/Penumbra/Overture/hpl.log
for any error messages
Also try running
ulimit -c unlimited
And re-running Penumbra and try and recreate the error
then submit the generated core file or stack trace
[fabio@abuarch Overture]$

in repositories and in AUR there is nothing called libasound
(This post was last modified: 07-21-2009, 11:37 AM by ndonolli.)
07-21-2009, 11:36 AM
Find
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: pulseaudio + openal

Progress:
first) If I delete .asoundrc and kill pulseaudio I can start the game correctly.

second) The Out of range problem is solved by putting 1280x1024 in the config file instead of 800x600, I don't know the main reason...
(but a feature to autodetect the resolution would be nice)

Now the problem is that:
1)Everytime I've must kill Pulseaudio.
2)I can't get Surround ound.
07-21-2009, 03:04 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: pulseaudio + openal

you need to restart your system... Your loaded kernel nvidia driver is different from what is installed.. AS long as it says "API Mismatch" the game won't run (no game will actually). I ran into this myself on Fedora 11 when I had upgarde from nvidia drivers version 180 to 185 without restarting.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-22-2009, 11:26 PM
Website Find
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: pulseaudio + openal

The Nvidia driver is not a problem, I think the game don't start because of the
"AL lib: alsa.c:344: Could not open playback device 'default': No such file or directory"
infact if I kill pulseaudio and remove .asoundrc (that is configured with pulseaudio) the game start...
07-23-2009, 11:11 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)