Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Penumbra and HPL2
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#11
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

One of the big differences between HPL1 and HPL2 is the map design.. in HPL1 it's a big collada model.. Where as in HPL2 it's a map that points to a bunch of collada model pieces and places them around the map.. (think tile based almost). So the designs are completely different and pretty much every level would have to be recreated to work in HPL2.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-04-2010, 11:00 PM
Website Find Reply
hollowleviathan Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 863
Threads: 2
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 2
#12
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

Like I said, I'm not daft enough to think it would be an easy task by any stretch of the imagination. But I just can't find it in me to fight the temptation to want it, just a little.
10-05-2010, 12:24 AM
Find Reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#13
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

Since the level editor is released for HPL2 you can always see what it would take to convert a Penumbra level into the amnesia engine... (I'm still working on the linux and mac versions.. they are giving me 'issues')

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-07-2010, 02:41 PM
Website Find Reply
house Offline
Member

Posts: 195
Threads: 11
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1
#14
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

HPL1 doesn't have a level editor. Sad HPL2 does, this would be great.
11-19-2010, 07:11 PM
Find Reply
Liamgraves3 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Threads: 5
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
#15
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

I just wish the creators of penumbra would make a map editor its all im asking for Sad
08-27-2011, 09:57 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#16
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

it won't be made for sure...
08-27-2011, 11:29 AM
Find Reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#17
RE: Penumbra and HPL2

There is a "level editor" for Penumbra, and it's "your favorite 3d model editor". All the levels in Penumbra were created in Maya I believe. You can also use Blender to work on the models.

Even with HPL2, the individual pieces that you use in the level editor were created in an external modeller first (e.g. Maya or Blender). The difference between HPL1 and HPL2 is that HPL1 uses a single model for the world instead of a intermediate file (the .map) that references smaller model files.

So, unless someone rewrites the map loader in the HPL1 engine to support an intermediate map file that references small model, the concept of the HPL2 map editor is simply not doable.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2011, 03:31 PM by Urkle.)
08-27-2011, 03:30 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)