Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Exception access violation
Author Message
Master Rafiki Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago Exception access violation

When i try to start the demo it tells me the game has crashed and says the following:
Exception Reason:
Amnesia.exe caused an EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in module <UNKOWN> at 001B:00000000
Is this a known error/is there a way to fix it?
09-29-2010, 06:51 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

You'll probably need to update the drivers for the graphics card or your graphics card is not supported.

Please go to My Documents/Amnesia/ and take the hpl.log file there and post it here.
09-29-2010, 06:56 PM
Website Find
Master Rafiki Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

Here it is
09-29-2010, 07:44 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

Log says GDI Generic for driver which will not work, so you will need to update your drivers and make sure you have a graphics card from nvidia or ati as integrated cards will probably not work.
09-29-2010, 08:50 PM
Website Find
Master Rafiki Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

ahhh, yea i have an intel and i tried updating it and still no luck, oh well
thanks for the help
09-29-2010, 08:56 PM
Find
bartman Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago Question  RE: Exception access violation

Hello there, i just got amnesia through gamersgate, i seem to have the same problem as the previous user:

when i run it, it says it caused an EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION 001B:0046216A

i had checked on Can you run it? (http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/analysis.aspx)
and my computer was ok.

here's the hpl doc, i hope there will be a way,
i heard about the game in non specialised french press, which means it really must be great...
10-03-2010, 02:32 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#7
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

Download new drivers from nvidia, uninstall the old driver, reboot computer and then install the new driver, reboot again and off you go I think.
10-03-2010, 12:38 PM
Website Find
delonemonkey Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

i am having a similar problem, here is my hpl doc
10-05-2010, 08:06 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#9
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

See A.5:
http://frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-...31474.html
10-05-2010, 08:32 AM
Find
delonemonkey Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Exception access violation

Still no luck.. I am very disappointed... should not have bought this game

when i go to device manager, all i see is my main ATI radeon 4500 graphics card, not the integrated one, that doesnt show up. I dont know how to set it as the preferred device
10-05-2010, 05:57 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)