Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#21
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009, 10:17 PM)DoubleU Wrote: Maybe good to mention is that my file system is case-sensitive. Not sure if this is a problem for this game but some apps don't like that at all.

It shouldn't matter, as the engine code does handle case sensitivity internally (ie.. finding the correct case) as this is the same code that runs on linux which is always case sensitive.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-17-2009, 11:10 PM
Website Find
NaturalJow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#22
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009, 10:40 PM)sdalek Wrote:
(07-17-2009, 06:47 PM)jens Wrote: Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Tried that and it didn't work. Anything else to try?

Try again to move the app to a different place. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. It's also like that, that it works a time, and after some start I have the same problem again. But moving solves it also again.
07-17-2009, 11:20 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#23
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

please try the directions in this threaad

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=3052

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-17-2009, 11:24 PM
Website Find
sdalek Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#24
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009, 11:20 PM)NaturalJow Wrote:
(07-17-2009, 10:40 PM)sdalek Wrote:
(07-17-2009, 06:47 PM)jens Wrote: Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Tried that and it didn't work. Anything else to try?

Try again to move the app to a different place. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. It's also like that, that it works a time, and after some start I have the same problem again. But moving solves it also again.

Tried this and it works intermittently. Thanks for the encouragement.

(07-17-2009, 11:24 PM)Urkle Wrote: please try the directions in this threaad

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=3052

Tried this and, after a couple of reboots, it may have fixed it for 'Overture'. It seems to come up consistently now, but the others still require copying the *.app file out and back again.

From what I've seen, this is a pretty cool game, but it's the first Mac app that's caused me problems. Even X11 on 10.4 didn't give me this much trouble. It's been my experience that Macs just work as do the apps I've installed. What happened? How will it be fixed?
07-18-2009, 03:04 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)