Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0
ritalin Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

Hi,

I'm getting this when opening the game:

FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0 could not be initialized! Make sure your graphic card drivers are up to date. Check log file for more information.

A lot of people are as well, but it's fine. I just need some help please.

I know it sucks but I'm running:

Mobile Intel® 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Approx. Total Memory: 1695MB


I can play Penumbra, TF2, L4D, Killing Floor and other similar titles absolutely fine, so I'm hoping the solution isn't too difficult.

I assume I need to update my drivers or something, but after searching here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchRe...amilyId=40

...and having like 33 options to choose from, I have no idea what to do.

Please help Sad
09-13-2010, 05:01 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

Amnesia will most likely not work on Integrated graphics from Intel. It might work if using the very latest drivers they provide, or it might work in the future when drivers improve.
09-13-2010, 05:37 PM
Website Find
ritalin Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

(09-13-2010, 05:37 PM)jens Wrote: Amnesia will most likely not work on Integrated graphics from Intel. It might work if using the very latest drivers they provide, or it might work in the future when drivers improve.

That's really a shame. Obviously a lot of people are having this problem too. I run games with higher specifications, but not this. Is that because the game is Open GL?

Can you suggest a driver that might work with my Intel card? There's a lot to choose from, and I haven't got any idea which one to download. Confused

thanks
09-13-2010, 06:45 PM
Find
richard.eid Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 2
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchRe...amilyId=39

Go there, pick your operating system and, to the right of that, select 'Driver'. The latest driver available for your chip is 15.17.11.2202. Download and install the right one for your OS and see what happens. My guess is you probably will still be having difficulty. It's worth a shot, though.
09-14-2010, 05:33 AM
Find
ritalin Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

(09-14-2010, 05:33 AM)richard.eid Wrote: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchRe...amilyId=39

Go there, pick your operating system and, to the right of that, select 'Driver'. The latest driver available for your chip is 15.17.11.2202. Download and install the right one for your OS and see what happens. My guess is you probably will still be having difficulty. It's worth a shot, though.

Thank you! I suspect this won't work, but I'll give it a try.

I've played Open GL games (with higher specs as well) before with my crappy Intel card. I've no idea why Amnesia is having so many problems with it. The forums are full with this exact error. If I was being cynical, I might have thought it was deliberate in order to force users to upgrade. But we'll see.

Hopefully this can get patched or something.
09-14-2010, 12:35 PM
Find
ritalin Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

bump for possible help
09-14-2010, 09:35 PM
Find
krystalevenstar Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

Exact same card and same problems, with no solution by downloading the latest driver. I'm really bummed out. I played Penumbra with no problem and I've been looking forward to Amnesia for months Sad
09-15-2010, 02:19 AM
Find
nsaneone Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

Same here. I pre-ordered this game as soon as I saw they were taking pre-orders. This is quite upsetting and disappointing that this bug is allowed to persist for this long.
09-15-2010, 02:47 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#9
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

It's an integrated chip, we have always said that integrated chips might not work and that the requirement is a nvidia/ati graphics card. It's difficult to do anything about it as it is often that the specified supported technologies for these chips are not actual in reality, especially not for OpenGL.
09-15-2010, 04:54 AM
Website Find
Projectfaded Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Yep, it's this thread again: FATAL ERROR: Renderer #0

THIS IS F*** BULLSHIT AND I AM F*** PISSED. I BOUGHT THIS F*** GAME AND I AM SORRY BUT I WANT TO PLAY IT. GOD FORBID MY BASIC INTEGRATED GRAPHICS CARD RUNS THE GAME I BOUGHT. F*** YOU FRACTIONAL.....F*** YOU

//edited as post was reported by forum member.
(This post was last modified: 08-09-2011, 02:30 PM by jens.)
09-18-2010, 04:12 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)