Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Demo acts real wierd when I start it, sort of crashes to desktop...
Author Message
nerdboyxxx Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 19 Hours, 49 Minutes, 47 Seconds ago Demo acts real wierd when I start it, sort of crashes to desktop...

Yeah, so I downloaded the demo off steam and tried to run it. I changed my settings all to max (my specs say I can run this game fine, but I'll post them anyway just in case) and I selected fullscreen, 1680x1050. It started up, then it just minimised to the desktop and my cursor was stuck in the top left-hand corner of teh screen. I had to spend 3 minutes tabbing through task manager to get it to stop running so I could make this forum post, lol.

So, I guess I'm wondering if there is a similar problem with a current fix Tongue.

Specs are as follows:

Processor: Intel® Pentium® Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Video Card: NVidia GeForce GTS-250
OS: Windows 7

If you need any more information I'll add it to this post Smile.
09-04-2010 12:40 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,456
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 44
Post: #2
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 19 Hours, 49 Minutes, 47 Seconds ago RE: Demo acts real wierd when I start it, sort of crashes to desktop...

try A2 here:
http://frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3754.html
09-04-2010 12:57 AM
Find all posts by this user
nwf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 8 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 19 Hours, 49 Minutes, 47 Seconds ago RE: Demo acts real wierd when I start it, sort of crashes to desktop...

For me this was caused by firefox constantly stealing focus. Once I closed it the game started up in fullscreen no problem
more to the point, if shutting down FF fixes this for you, making this tweak to my FF also worked for me http://labnol.blogspot.com/2006/07/secre...owser.html
(This post was last modified: 09-04-2010 03:38 AM by nwf.)
09-04-2010 03:31 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)