Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Enable Parallax Quality for improved texture rendering
Author Message
Deu sex Offline
Member

Posts: 219
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Enable Parallax Quality for improved texture rendering

Thanks to a guy called 'sgi', we now have the possibility to enable the true parallax occlusion mapping effect in Amnesia, the dark descent.

Follow thoose instructions :

in the amnesia files, go to the folder : "core" , and after, "shader", and edit the file "deferred_gbuffer_solid_frag.glsl"

at the RELIEF PARALLAX section, there will be a line, its :

RayLinearIntersectionSM3(aHeightMap, fSteps, vHeightMapPos, vEyeVec);

change it to :

RayLinearIntersectionSM2(aHeightMap, vHeightMapPos, vEyeVec);

be careful with the SM3 at SM2 change !!

save the file and close it.




after, go to the folder "launcher" and edit the file "default_main_settings_high.cfg"

go to the line :

ParallaxQuality="0"

and change it to :

ParallaxQuality="1"

save the file and close it.




now launch the game's menu, set "medium" at the graphics settings, and immediatly after, set "high".

launch the game and you will see the difference about texture 3D rendering !
(This post was last modified: 01-29-2013 04:28 PM by plutomaniac.)
09-23-2010 01:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nofsky Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 423
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

Nice find! It works a lot better now, actually I didn't notice any slowdown at all.

I did notice some graphical errors on the textures in the "cistern entrance" map, on the floor of the center pillar and bridge.
09-23-2010 05:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deu sex Offline
Member

Posts: 219
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

(09-23-2010 05:59 PM)nofsky Wrote:  Nice find! It works a lot better now, actually I didn't notice any slowdown at all.

I did notice some graphical errors on the textures in the "cistern entrance" map, on the floor of the center pillar and bridge.

really ? shit... need to improve this more as I see...
just tested it, there is no texture problems, just a little bit abused parallaxed texure buts thats not really disturbing, really less thant the "oil color" effect from bump mapping ^^
(This post was last modified: 09-23-2010 08:09 PM by Deu sex.)
09-23-2010 07:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Frontcannon Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 538
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

I have no Parallax Quality line in my main_settings_high.cfg Sad

I added it, but I couldn't really see any difference.


╔═════════════════╗
☺ Smoke weed everyday ☺
╚═════════════════╝
09-23-2010 08:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deu sex Offline
Member

Posts: 219
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

(09-23-2010 08:52 PM)Frontcannon Wrote:  I have no Parallax Quality line in my main_settings_high.cfg Sad

I added it, but I couldn't really see any difference.

?

this is the file :

<Graphics
ShadowQuality="2"
ShadowResolution="2"

WorldReflection="true"

SSAOActive="true"
SSAOResolution="0"
SSAOSamples="16"

TextureFilter="2"
TextureAnisotropy="16"

EdgeSmooth="true"

ParallaxEnabled="true"
ParallaxQuality="1"
/>
09-23-2010 11:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datashocker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

(09-23-2010 08:52 PM)Frontcannon Wrote:  I have no Parallax Quality line in my main_settings_high.cfg Sad

I added it, but I couldn't really see any difference.

If on Windows,
Check in your C:\Users\"YourUserName"\Documents\Amnesia\Main

There should be a file called "main_settings.cfg". Open this in a text editor and find "ParallaxQuality". Change the setting from 0 to 1, then save. Start Amnesia, make sure that Parallax is on in the launcher, and play. The difference should be easy to see.

The girlish scream that Daniel puts forth as he sees a disturbing event is enough to make my day.
09-23-2010 11:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Godamit Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 24
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

I tried this, followed it LINE FOR LINE, yet when I started the game I was receiving some graphical glitches. the glitch in graphics was just a single, or a couple of bars across the screen. and the performance was not improved?
09-24-2010 01:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ajvitaly Offline
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

How is it different? Can someone post screen shots?
09-24-2010 03:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datashocker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

Parallax is like bump-mapping to the extreme. It can take a flat surface, and make it look like a complicated 3d model.

Taken from the Parallax thread in the Tech Forum:


Modified POM is what you will get with the above method
[Image: 2w3nmfm.jpg]


Without Parallax
http://img11.hostingpics.net/pics/361998...llax_2.jpg

With Parallax
http://img11.hostingpics.net/pics/955627...llax_2.jpg

The girlish scream that Daniel puts forth as he sees a disturbing event is enough to make my day.
09-24-2010 04:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,456
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 44
Post: #10
RE: HOW TO HAVE A BETTER TEXTURE RENDERING IN AMNESIA !

For more fun and power demanding stuff you can change the render type:
GBufferType="0"
to
GBufferType="1"

Should make shadows follow according to the offset in texture.

It was a while since I tested it, but it should work.
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2010 08:26 PM by Thomas.)
09-24-2010 08:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)